Wednesday 14th October, 2015 Australia/Sydney

Australian Conservative

Abbott announces his shadow ministry

Malcom Turnbull, Tony Abbott.

Opposition Leader Tony Abbott today appointed Malcolm Turnbull as communications and broadband spokesman in the new Coalition shadow cabinet.

Deputy opposition leader Julie Bishop continues as shadow foreign minister and Joe Hockey remains shadow treasurer.

Promoted to the front bench are NSW Nationals senator Fiona Nash, West Australian Liberal senator Michaelia Cash, Brisbane MP Teresa Gambaro, Victorian Nationals MP Darren Chester, Queensland MP Andrew Laming and Victorian Liberal senator Scott Ryan.

Steve Ciobo, Louise Markus and Sharman Stone have been demoted.

Tony Smith becomes Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Tax Reform.

Tony Abbott issued this statement:

The reshaped Coalition frontbench that I announce today is a strong and experienced team that will hold a weak Government to account.

The new Shadow Ministry is a team with deep connections to the community, ensuring that we will continue to put forward practical policies that help Australian families get ahead.

The Deputy Leader of the Opposition, the Hon Julie Bishop MP, will remain as Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs, building on the excellent work she has done in this area over the last 18 months. The position of Shadow Minister for Trade will be added to Julie’s responsibilities.

The Leader of the Nationals, the Hon Warren Truss MP will become Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Transport and the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, Senator the Hon Eric Abetz, will continue to serve as Shadow Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations.

I look forward to continuing to work with the Coalition’s economic team of the Hon Joe Hockey MP and the Hon Andrew Robb AO MP who have done an excellent job in holding the Government to account for their disastrous record of debt, deficit, waste and mismanagement.

Mr Scott Morrison MP will take on the added responsibility of Shadow Minister for Productivity and Population adding to his role as Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship. The Hon Senator George Brandis SC, Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, will add Shadow Minister for the Arts to his responsibilities as Shadow Attorney-General. Senator Brandis held the Arts portfolio in government and will once again deliver the policy focus that Australia’s arts community deserves.

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP will rejoin the Shadow Cabinet as Shadow Minister for Communications and Broadband. As one of the founders of OzEmail, Australia’s first big internet company, Malcolm brings unrivalled experience and passion to this portfolio area and he will hold the Government ferociously to account for their reckless and uncosted National Broadband Network.

I have also appointed a number of new shadow ministers, reflecting the depth of talent and ability in the Coalition’s parliamentary team.

Senator Mathias Cormann has been appointed as Shadow Assistant Treasurer and Shadow Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation.

Mr Stuart Robert MP will take on the role of Shadow Minister for Defence Science and Personnel and Shadow Minister Assisting the Shadow Minister for Defence. Stuart’s 12-year military career provides him with particular expertise in this very important portfolio.

Senator Mitch Fifield will be promoted to the frontbench as Shadow Minister for Disabilities, Carers and the Voluntary Sector continuing the excellent policy work he has done in this area over the last year. Senator Fifield will also take on the role of Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate.

Senator the Hon Brett Mason has also been promoted to the role of Shadow Minister for Universities and Research and will serve as part of a very strong team in the education portfolio lead by a dedicated Minister for Education, Apprenticeships and Training, the Hon Christopher Pyne MP. Mr Pyne will remain as Manager of Opposition Business in the House and under the new parliamentary arrangements continue to hold the Gillard Government to account.

Furthermore, the Hon Teresa Gambaro MP, Mr Darren Chester MP, Senator Fiona Nash, Dr Andrew Laming MP, Senator Michaelia Cash and Senator Scott Ryan have been promoted to the ranks of Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries.

Mr Jamie Briggs has been appointed as the Chairman of the Coalition’s Scrutiny of Government Waste Committee and will continue the excellent work that Senator Guy Barnett undertook in this position exposing the waste of the Rudd-Gillard Government.

I would like to thank the Hon Tony Smith MP for the significant contribution he made to the Shadow Cabinet. The frontbench will continue to benefit from Tony’s economic policy expertise in the position of Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Tax Reform and as Deputy Chairman of the Coalition Policy Development Committee. I also thank the Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP, Mr Steven Ciobo MP, Mrs Louise Markus MP and Mrs Joanna Gash MP for their contributions to the Coalition frontbench in opposition.

I am also very grateful that The Hon Warren Entsch has agreed to serve at the Chief Opposition Whip in the House of Representatives. As a returning member of significant standing amongst his parliamentary colleagues, Warren will be in an ideal position to provide support to Opposition Members. He will be joined by Mr Patrick Secker MP and Ms Nola Marino MP who will continue in their current roles. I thank the Hon Alex Somlyay for the outstanding job he has done as Chief Opposition Whip since 2007.

This is a Shadow Ministry that is committed to building a strong Australia and delivering better lives for the Australian people. I believe that this team will be even more effective in this Parliament than we were in the last.

New Shadow Ministry – the complete list.

Comments are closed.

Story Archive

  • Topic

  • Month

advert advert

Web Design MelbourneSEO Consulting Melbourne