Wednesday 7th October, 2015 Australia/Sydney

Australian Conservative

Bligh’s Labor annihilated – Newman’s LNP romps home in Queensland

The Liberal National Party’s Campbell Newman has won the key Brisbane seat of Ashgrove and will lead a government with a massive majority in the new Queensland Parliament.

Late on Saturday night, as counting continued, it appeared that the LNP will have 74 or 75 members in the 89-seat parliament, with Labor winning 11 seats or fewer.

A string of Bligh Government ministers have lost their seats in the electoral bloodbath, including Deputy Premier Andrew Fraser who had been regarded as a possible Labor leadership successor.

The anti-establishment Bob Katter’s Australian Party appears to have won two seats and may win a third, a poorer result than some expected.

Last night, with 70 per cent of the first preference votes counted, the LNP was ahead in 78 seats, the ALP in seven, the KAP in two and independents in two seats.

On the latest Electoral Commission Queensland figures, the LNP has secured 49.5 per cent of the first preference vote, the ALP 26.85, the KAP 11.6 and the Greens 7.38.

Comments are closed.

Story Archive

  • Topic

  • Month

advert advert

Web Design MelbourneSEO Consulting Melbourne